34 satellites are operational in India: Government

Thursday 27th of April 2017

Sharing is caring

May 5, 2016

The Union Government has announced that currently 34 Indian satellites are operational in the space.

That it was announced via the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh in written reply to the question in Rajya Sabha.

34 operational satellites are

  • 13 Communication Satellites: INSAT-3A, INSAT-3C, INSAT-4A, INSAT-4B, INSAT-4CR, GSAT-6, GSAT-7, GSAT-8, GSAT-10, GSAT-12, GSAT-14, GSAT-15 and GSAT-16.
  • 12 Earth Observation Satellites: Resourcesat-2, RISAT-1, RISAT-2, Cartosat-1, Cartosat-2, Cartosat-2A, Cartosat-2B, Oceansat-2, SARAL, Kalpana-1, Megha-Tropiques and INSAT-3D.
  • 7 Navigational Satellites: IRNSS-1A, 1B, 1C, 1D, 1E, 1F and 1G.
  • 2 Space science Satellites: Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM) and Astrosat.

It was also mentioned that about 30 companies are utilising Ku-band (a a natural part of K band) transponders onboard indigenous communication satellites for assorted communication applications.

These applications include Direct-To-Home Television (DTH), Digital Satellite News Gathering, telecommunication, VSAT services for banking, tele-education and business communication etc.

Sharing is caring