World chess champion Vishwanathan Anand receive 2016 Hridaynath Mangeshkar Award.

Wednesday 13th of April 2016

Sharing is caring

Five-time world chess champion Vishwanathan Anand (46) was honoured with the 2016 Hridaynath Mangeshkar Award. He was presented with award by the Maharashtra Governor C Vidyasagar Rao in Mumbai on the occasions of celebrations of 25th anniversary of the Hridayesh Arts which gives the awards. He was selected for the award for his contributions to the game of Chess by becoming five-time world champion. With this he became first sports personality to receive this prestigious award.


Viswanathan "Vishy" Anand is an Indian chess Grandmaster and a former World Chess Champion.

Viswanathan Anand became India's first grandmaster in 1988. He held the FIDE World Chess Championship from 2000 to 2002. He became the undisputed World Champion in 2007 and defended his title against Vladimir Kramnik in 2008. He then defended his title in the World Chess Championship 2010 against Veselin Topalov and in the World Chess Championship 2012 against Boris Gelfand. In the World Chess Championship 2013 he lost to challenger Magnus Carlsen and he lost again to Carlsen in the World Chess Championship 2014.

In April 2006 Anand became the fourth player in history to pass the 2800 Elo mark on the FIDE rating list, after Garry Kasparov, Vladimir Kramnik and Veselin Topalov. He occupied the number one position for 21 months, the 6th longest on record.

He was also the first recipient of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 1991–92, India's highest sporting honour. In 2007, he was awarded India's second highest civilian award, the Padma Vibhushan, making him the first sports person to receive the award.

General Information

  • Full name: V. Anand or Anand Vishwanathan

  • Country: India

  • Born: 11 December 1969 (age 46), Mayiladuthurai, Tamil Nadu, India

  • Title: Grandmaster (1988)

  • World Champion: 2000–02 (FIDE), 2007–13

  • FIDE rating: 2770 (April 2016), (No. 11 in the April 2016 FIDE World Rankings).

  • Peak rating: 2817 (March 2011)


  • Established in 2011 by Mumbai- based socio-cultural organisation Hridayesh Art in the honour of music composer and singer Hridaynath Mangeskar.

  • The award felicitates and recognises successful individuals across the country from various walks of life. It carries monetary award of Rs 2 lakh and a memento.

  • Hridaynath is the son of renowned musician Deenanath Mangeshkar and is younger brother of Indian music legends Lata Mangeshkar and Asha Bhosle.

  • The previous recipients of the award include eminent personalities like Lata Mangeshkar, Asha Bhosle, Amitabh Bachchan, Hariprasad Chaurasia and A R Rahman.


Sharing is caring