IIT-Kanpur professor Sanjay Mittal awarded 2015 GD Birla Award

Friday 24th of June 2016

Sharing is caring

IIT-Kanpur professor Sanjay Mittal has been awarded the twenty-fifth GD Birla Award for Scientific Research for the year 2015.

He has been bestowed with this award for his significant contributions have been in the area of Mechanics.

More about Sanjay Mittal

Sanjay Mittal is a Professor of computational fluid dynamics in the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India. After doing his B.Tech. from IIT Kanpur in 1988, he got enrolled atUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities for M.S. program. He then received his Ph.D. and worked as a research associate under Prof. Tayfun E. Tezduyar. After working for 2 years at Army High Performance Computing center he returned to India and joined IIT Kanpur in the year of 1994 as an Assistant Professor.

  • Professor at the Department of Aerospace Engineering in the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur.

  • He was instrumental in establishing the High Performance Computing (HPC) facility at IIT Kanpur. He also heads the National Wind Tunnel Facility.

  • His most significant contribution has been in the area of Bluff Body Flows (flows past blunt bodies associated with large unsteady separation and leading to large fluid forces).

  • He is among a very few researchers in India who have worked on and used Finite Element Analysis (FEA) for fluid flows.

  • He also has worked in the area of sports aerodynamics. His team was able to bring out the aerodynamic difference between a synthetic shuttle cock and duck-feather.

GD Birla Award

  • It is an annual scientific award bestowed upon Indian scientist below the age of 50, living and working in India for their outstanding scientific research, mostly during past 5 years.

  • The award is given Indian scientist in any branch of science and technology including medical science, basic as well as applied.

  • It was established 1991 by the K. K. Birla Foundation in the honour of philanthropist Ghanshyam Das Birla.

  • The award carries cash prize of 2.5 lakh rupees and a citation. The selection of the award is made by a board comprising eminent scientists.

GD Birla Award Recipients

2015Sanjay MittalScientific ResearchIndian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
2014Sanjeev GalandeScientific ResearchIndian Institute of Science, Education and Research (IISER), Pune
2013Rajesh GopakumarQuantum field theory and string theoryHarish Chandra Research Institute
2012Nibir MandalStructural geologyJadavpur University
2011Tapas Kumar KunduBiochemistryJawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
2010Subhasis ChaudhuriElectrical engineeringIndian Institute of Technology, Mumbai
2009Manindra AgrawalComputer scienceIndian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
2008Raghavan VaradrajanBiophysicsIndian Institute of Science, Bangalore
2007Santanu BhattacharyaChemistryIndian Institute of Science, Bangalore
2006Sriram RamaswamyPhysicsIndian Institute of Science, Bangalore
2005D.D. SarmaNanotechnologyIndian Institute of Science, Bangalore
2004Arjun M. JayannvarPhysicsInstitute of Physics, Bhubaneswar
2003Thanu PadmanabhanAstrophysicsInter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune
2002P.P. MajumdarHuman geneticsIndian Statistical Institute
2001Seyed E. HasnainMedical geneticsUniversity of Hyderabad
2000A.K. SoodExperimental physicsIndian Institute of Science, Bangalore
1999Sankar K. PalComputer engineeringIndian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
1998Not awarded NA NA
1997Biman BagchiStructural chemistryIndian Institute of Science, Bangalore
1996Ashoke SenTheoretical physicsHarish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad
1995Girish S. AgarwalQuantum opticsPhysical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad
1994Padmanabhan BalaramBiochemistryIndian Institute of Science, Bangalore
1993R.A. MashelkarPolymer scienceCouncil of Scientific & Industrial Research
1992Goverdhan MehtaOrganic chemistryIndian Institute of Science, Bangalore
1991Asis DattaMolecular biologyNational Centre for Plant Genome Research, JNU

Sharing is caring