Sunil Chhetri wins Hero of I-League 2016-17 Award

Wednesday 3rd of May 2017

Sharing is caring

Bengaluru FC striker Sunil Chhetri on 2 May 2017 won the coveted Hero of the League 2016-17 Award.

Chhetri won essentially the most availablility of votes cast by coaches and captains of the 10 teams, which took part around the I-League. The striker had scored seven goals for fourth-place finishers Bengaluru FC.

However, Khalid Jamil, who guided Aizawl FC to some historic title win, was chosen since the Coach of the Year. He was honoured along with the Syed Abdul Rahim Best Coach Award.

Other awards:

Debjit Majumder: Best Goalkeeper Award of Hero I-league 2016-17Anas Edathodika: Best Defender of Hero I-League 2016-17 AwardAlfred Kemah Jaryan: Best Midfielder of Hero I-League 2016-17Aser Pierrick Dipanda Dicka: Best Striker Award of Hero I-league 2016-17Jerry Lalrinzuala: Best Emerging Player of Hero I-League Award Churchill Brothers FC Goa: Fairplay Award of Hero I-league 2016-17DSK Shivajians FC and Bengaluru FC: Best Organiser Award of Hero I-league 2016-17

About Sunil Chhetri

• Born on 3 August 1984, Sunil Chhetri is undoubtedly an Indian professional footballer.

• He plays as a striker for Indian club Bengaluru FC and therefore the Indian national team.

• He could be an all-time top goalscorer in the India national team.

• He also served since the captain of the national team from 2011 till 2016.

• He helped India win the 2007 Nehru Cup, 2009 Nehru Cup, the 2012 Nehru Cup and the 2011 SAFF Championship.

• He has been named AIFF Player of the Year 4x in 2007, 2011, 2013 and 2014.

Sharing is caring