Mallikarjun Kharge appointed as Chairman of Public Accounts Committee

Wednesday 3rd of May 2017

Sharing is caring

Mallikarjun Kharge, leader of Congress in Lok Sabha, on 2 May 2017 was appointed being the Chairperson from the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) from the Parliament.

Kharge replaces his party's K.V. Thomas whose term is finished recently.

Besides Kharge, the PAC has 14 members from Lok Sabha and seven from Rajya Sabha.

The members from the PAC from Lok Sabha are Sudip Bandyopadhyay, Subhash Chandra Baheria, Prem Singh Chandumajra, Nishikant Dubey, Gajanan Chandrakant Kirtikar, Bhartruhari Mahtab, Riti Pathak, Neiphiu Rio, Abhishek Singh, Ram Shanker, Kirit Somaiya, Anurag Singh Thakur, Shivkumar C Udasi and P. Venugopal.

The members from the PAC from Upper House while in the panel are Naresh Agrawal, Satyavrat Chaturvedi, Bhubaneswar Kalita, Shantaram Naik, Sukhendu Sekhar Roy, Ajay Sancheti and Bhupender Yadav.

About Public Accounts Committee

• The Public Accounts Committee can be a committee of selected members of Parliament towards the auditing from the revenue plus the expenditure from the Government of India.

• It is made every year by using a strength of only 22 members which 15 are from Lok Sabha, the house from the Parliament, and 7 from Rajya Sabha, the top house from the Parliament. No 22 members will probably be a minister while in the government.

• The tenure from the members is year.

• The Chairman from the PAC is appointed via the Speaker of Lok Sabha.

• Since 1967, the chairman from the committee has been selected from opposition. Earlier, it was subsequently headed by an associate from the ruling party.

• The PAC's main function is to examine the audit report of Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) after its laid while in the Parliament.

Sharing is caring